Home » Dining Out » Sonic’s Pulled Pork BBQ Cheeseburger

Sonic’s Pulled Pork BBQ Cheeseburger

Sonic’s running a deal on their app for BOGO free of their delicious Buffalo Chicken Dip Bites this weekend. I decided to head out at lunchtime and grab some for later and grabbed a new Pulled Pork BBQ Cheeseburger for lunch.

Shiny

I guess it got a little steamy on the way home to be so shiny and wet looking. It didn’t seem like a buttered bun or anything like that. Fortunately it wasn’t soggy, just needed a pat dry. Didn’t look too bad otherwise. Let’s peek inside…

Not too photogenic. Sonic’s description runs thusly:

100% pure beef patty topped with smoked pulled pork, cherrywood smoke sauce, crinkle-cut pickles, and melty American cheese layered between a toasted brioche bun

You can see what I did, there’s certainly a generous helping of smoked pulled pork on there along with several pickles and American cheese, although that was so melty some melted right off the sandwich. And some mayo that I had added to the order. Perhaps you also see what I soon spotted…a distinct underuse of cherrywood smoke sauce.

I chose to give it a try as presented first and it was pretty good. Better than I expected for fast food pulled pork or Sonic, that’s for sure. Now it’s not going to make you forget real deal smoked pulled pork from your local favorite (looking at you Memphis King!), but it wasn’t dry, it had a little bite, and decent flavor. It also worked well with the other ingredients. Still…it needed BBQ sauce. After I added a few dabs it went from not bad to pretty tasty indeed. $7.69 tasty? Hmm. Well, it was filling. The burger was well cooked. Given the amount of pork on it and the state of food prices and prices of everything else, it’s not crazy. I liked it better than the limited time Peanut Butter Bacon Cheeseburger that I got at Sonic recently (that would have been better if eaten right away, by the time I had it most of the peanut butter had liquified and run off the bun where it became mostly a dipping sauce). Thumbs up overall for what it is.