Home » Dining Out » Wendy’s Gouda Bacon Cheeseburger Rolled Out Locally

Wendy’s Gouda Bacon Cheeseburger Rolled Out Locally

It’s almost Thanksgiving, so basically I’m just too lazy to check if it was Grubgrade or the Nosh Show (or somewhere else) where I first heard about the Gouda Bacon Cheeseburger coming from Wendy’s…rolling out to a broader market after testing.  Anyway, looks like Ryan beat me to the publishing punch, he got his review up this afternoon while I was still digesting my GBC (let’s call it that, ‘k?) picked up at the Latham Wendy’s on Route 7. Like Ryan, the sandwich was well over $5 here.  Do I agree with his review?  Well, kinda sorta.  For a description of the burger, since I don’t see it on Wendy’s website, check out Ryan’s.  Again…lazy.

112515-1There is a LOT of stuff on the GBC.

I had to pull off some of the spring mix, I don’t need a bunch of stems on my burger.  Yes, my gouda was unmelted.  Yes, it was tasty, but hard to discern in most bites.  Was there sauce everywhere?  You tell me.

112515-2Also, too much red onion (I don’t like red onion).

Unlike Ryan, I think Wendy’s bacon is useless.  Maybe the bacon in Maryland is better?  Despite the quantity, I only tasted the bacon in one or two bites.  I find this typical.

Unlike Ryan, I actually enjoyed this brioche bun, probably the first time I didn’t hate a fast food brioche bun.  It wasn’t dry.  Again, first time for everything.  I still think a plain sesame seed squishy bun would be fine/preferable.

Overall I thought it was pretty good.  I went in actually to get a BBQ Ranch Chicken Salad, but was drawn in by the huge display for this burger.  The Swiss Gruyere Cheese Sauce almost put me off it, because I simply don’t like Swiss cheese and similar, but I’m glad I went for it.  I thought the sauce was really good, if perhaps a bit overly plentiful.  It gave the GBC a rich flavor and didn’t have that characteristic dry Swiss cheesiness.  And it was thick enough to stay on the burger, unlike that whatever-it-was on the pretzel burger that just puddled in the cardboard container.  I honestly can’t say I made much note of the garlic aioli.  Maybe some garlic in the flavor.

I find it tasty and filling as a single, although you can go double or triple if you want.  Albeit I’m starting from a standpoint of already liking Wendy’s burgers (at least compared to BK and McD’s).  It’s basically a little too expensive for me given the number of ingredients I wasn’t thrilled with…the spring mix, the brioche bun, the unsatisfying bacon, the red onion.  Put the gouda (I like gouda a lot) and cheese sauce on a junior burger with a slice of tomato, slash the price, and sign me up.

(I did get another of these at the Wendy’s in Mansion Square and it was quite a bit better.  Still too stem-y, but they were more judicious with the sauce and it made a huge difference.  Still plenty, but not running everywhere.  Again, with a small fries, I found this really filling.)

