Home » Groceries » Sunday grocerysploring

Sunday grocerysploring

I decided today that it was time for some more grocerysploring.  There were a couple of things I wanted to find, so it was time.  While I never found my prime target, Doritos Dinamita Mojo Criollo, I found a few things.

Actually, I started grocerysploring in the past couple of days.  I picked up Stewart’s Blackberry gelato.  Been wanting to try that since I saw it, so it was time to get that in the freezer.

Hannaford in Clifton Park got me nowhere, but I did pick up a couple more bags of Chocolate Lemon Twist Oreos (still haven’t ever even seen these anywhere else locally except this Hannaford).

A stop at the Niskayuna Hannaford found nothing really new and thrilling, I would say, but I did pick up a number of items.  Maybe one of the more interesting ones is a bottle of sweet chili sauce from Frank’s RedHot.  Looking forward to trying that since I do love sweet chili sauce.

Next up was ShopRite, targeted specifically because of an online coupon for 2 Three Twins Ice Cream.  Picked up the Lemon Cookie and Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup.  Also grabbed some Slush Puppy freezer pops since it has watermelon and I love watermelon Slush Puppys.  Had one today…so-so.  Not completely unrelated to the original, but not exactly like it, either.

On a whim I stopped in to the PriceRite in Crosstown Plaza.  Nothing.  I almost got some Lupo’s Spiedie bottles because they seemed cheaper than at other places, but it wasn’t worth standing in line just for that.

Off to Five Below, hoping for some interesting candy.  I did pick up a few Despicable Me minion Pez dispensers, but that was it.

Then I hopped over to the newly opened Walmart on Route 9.  It’s nice.  It’s big.  The layout is typical, but with the new building clearly they decided to make it roomy and it shows.  Obviously it’s neat and clean, it’s new.  That said, nothing new.  I did get a couple bags of peanut dark chocolate m&ms and some Lay’s Stax to replenish my stock.

On a whim I stopped in to Panda Express thinking I’d try the highly touted orange chicken.  Stood in line behind 3 or 4 people for a few minutes, orange chicken bin empty, then an employee was giving some sort of excuse about not having orange chicken so I just left.  Oh well.

Stopped at a couple of convenience stores…no Doritos, no Lay’s.  Decided to go for one more stop at the Eastern Parkway Price Chopper.  Big display of Lay’s right by the door, 2/$5, including all four new flavors of Lay’s Do Me A Flavor chips.  Thanks, Price Chopper.  Picked up the Greektown Gyro and the Truffle Fry versions.  I also noticed that this Price Chopper is looking WAY better than the last time I was in there, which admittedly was probably a few years ago.  It was clean, it was neat, it was stocked…and this was Sunday afternoon, and we all know how crazy supermarkets are on Sundays when people are off and the new sales are out.  Price Chopper should be proud of the store manager and staff there, it’s looking so improved.

And, since I was right there, one last last LAST stop at the Rite Aid, because I’d literally missed stopping into the one on Route 7 by minutes.  I haven’t been to a Rite Aid lately, so I figured I’d give it a shot.  Well, I was taking pictures of all the Halloween stuff they have out, then there was the Brach’s Peanut Butter Cup Candy Corn.  That was all I got there…then it was time to call it a day.

Never did find the Doritos Dinamita Mojo Criollo.  Anybody found these locally?

