Home » Dining Out » Burger 4 at Burger 21

Burger 4 at Burger 21

Well, it was bound to happen.  Burger 4 at Burger 21 in Latham was a bit of a letdown.  I decided to give the featured Pizza Burger a try.  The description is: “Certified Angus Beef dressed with basil pesto, tomato sauce, melted provolone and Parmesan cheeses, pepperoni and a blend of Italian herbs and spices.”  I decided against the basil pesto.

No pictures this time, but the burger was again well assembled with the correct ingredients layered tidily.  Sadly, the burger was rather undercooked, just past medium rare, which is simply not enough for me.  That, coupled with the grease from the pepperoni, led to a soggy lower bun, at least around the edges.  I’ll say this for their buns, in addition to being tasty, they’re sturdy without having that stale quality.  It didn’t fall apart.  Eating around the edge first probably helped.

The tomato sauce was extremely limited, I’ll be honest I didn’t even notice it.  The cheeses, melted atop the burger with the pepperoni, were really tasty.  The “herbs and spices” weren’t a standout, they were sort of unnoticed.  I mostly got a salty/peppery taste from the meat, which was fine.  Good really.

All in all it was just sort of OK.  Maybe the pesto would have done something positive, but it’s not really my thing, so I sort of doubt it.  The fact that it was undercooked was what really threw me off, though.  At least it was hot all the way through.  I don’t think I’ve ever had to send back a fast food burger for being uncooked.

As always, the sweet chili ketchup rocked.  I’m not too proud to admit that by the end of my burger I was dipping it into that ketchup.  It needed that little extra liveliness.

