Home » Baking » You got your Butterfingers in my Reese’s cookies recipe

You got your Butterfingers in my Reese’s cookies recipe

Despite all the Christmas baking I had a little ‘click’ in my brain when I realized I hadn’t made any Peanut Butter Blossoms this year and simultaneously thought about those Butterfinger mini cups.

cookies!

cookies!

Yeah, I went there.  Combined mortal enemies (or so I’ve decided to pretend) into one cookie.  Instead of making straight peanut butter cookies and topping with a Hershey’s kiss, I made cookies with Reese’s peanut butter chocolate spread and topped them with Butterfinger mini cups.  Want the recipe?  OK, but note that the final result is a little crumbly.  I literally just made this for the first time and remember that this isn’t one of those recipe blogs with painstakingly tested recipes presented on cute little plates with sparkly tablecloths (Yeah, I read those blogs…).  Feel free to monkey with this and see if you can get a little better result.  This is a pretty generic peanut butter cookie recipe with just the one switch.

You Got Your Butterfingers In My Reese’s Cookies Recipe

I got 29 cookies from this.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C unsalted butter
  • 3/4 C Reese’s peanut butter chocolate spread
  • 1/3 C sugar, plus more for rolling
  • 1/3 C light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1-1/2 C all purpose flour
  • Butterfinger peanut butter mini cups
  1. Preheat oven to 375 deg.
  2. In bowl of stand mixer, beat butter and Reese’s spread until blended.
  3. Add sugars and beat until fluffy.
  4. Add egg, baking soda, salt, and vanilla and mix well.  I don’t need to be telling you about things like scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed, etc., do I?  Good.
  5. Add in flour in 3 increments, mixing in between.
  6. My guess is that you’re going to have VERY sticky, thin dough at this point and this might be where you’ll want to fool with the recipe, maybe a little more flour.  Or do what I did and refrigerate the dough until it firms up a bit.
  7. Pour some sugar on a plate for rolling.  You want about 1″ balls of dough here, I used my go-to cookie scoop, a #40 ~tablespoon scoop.  Scoop, roll into a ball, roll to coat in sugar, place on cookie sheet lined with a silpat or parchment.  These won’t spread much, so just leave a couple inches between them.  You don’t need generic cookie-ing tips like to scoop out a whole tray of tbsp portions then roll and coat them instead of scooping/rolling, scooping/rolling, right?  Great!
  8. I baked these for 9 minutes, which seemed about right.  Maybe try a minute less?
  9. Immediately top each with a mini Butterfinger peanut butter cup, give it a quick press down into the hot cookie.  Let them sit untouched about 5 minutes then carefully transfer to a cookie sheet for a LONG cool down.  Those Butterfinger cups stay loose and melty for quite some time.

Good luck!

