Home » Groceries » Trader Joe’s treat, Dark Chocolate Triple Ginger Cookies

Trader Joe’s treat, Dark Chocolate Triple Ginger Cookies

Figured I’d better get this review out before these disappear from Trader Joe’s dark chocolate coated holiday shelves.  These cookies were a ‘pass’ the first time I saw them and a ‘eh, might as well’ when I saw them on a subsequent trip.

Arty Festivity

Arty Festivity

There’s not a lot to tell about these.  I like ginger.  I like ginger cookies.  I love gingersnaps.  I thought ‘triple ginger’ was an encouraging sign.

typical TJs description

typical TJs description

I’ve never had their ‘best selling triple ginger cookie’ so I don’t know how this compares.  The packaging drew me in, too.  Those minimalist cardinals are pretty sweet (although cardinals’ winter plumage is a lot duller than bright red…ok enough of that, you).  Like the scarf on the snowman, although I can’t figure out how that hat is staying on there (I said enough of that!).  Trader Joe’s products covered in dark chocolate are typically guaranteed to be a nice dark chocolate, so lots going for these.  Let’s crack it open.

what you see and what you get

what you see and what you get

Room for a few more cookies in there, TJs.

pretty simple

pretty simple

Nicely enrobed.  And biting…

on the inside

on the inside

So these are OK.  They’re not as “snappy” as the box claims.  They are a bit crunchy, but not even close to a nice crisp, crunchy gingersnap.  The ratio of chocolate to cookie is decent and with a stronger ginger bite it would have been perfect.  Sadly, despite the promise of “triple ginger”, these just don’t have a lot of bite to them.  They taste like a ginger cookie, but I feel a little silly for worrying that they would be ginger overkill.  Very much underkill on the ginger.  The chocolate is just a little overwhelming.  If these had a dark chocolate coating on the bottom they’d have been right on the mark.

I will certainly finish the box, but I wouldn’t get them again.  If you sort of like gingersnaps, but not ones that are shatteringly thin and crisp, and like dark chocolate, these are a perfectly pleasant treat.  They’re also beautifully packaged as noted above, so they’d be fine for a minor, cheap hostess gift or similar.  Even tucked into a stocking, I guess.

Bake at 350 had a similar reaction.

