Home » Groceries » New cookie butter surprises at Trader Joe’s

New cookie butter surprises at Trader Joe’s

Out of the blue, and nearly lost amidst a veritable explosion of pumpkin spiced EVERYTHING at Trader Joe’s, look what leapt into our basket tonight:

Whoa!

Whoa!

No sooner did we polish off the cookie butter / chocolate mix, but here comes TJ’s with a new blend.  As you can see, that’s not just cookie butter in there…read the label.  The dark side is made from “crushed cocoa biscuits”.  To be blunt, this is supposed to be Oreos in a jar.  The dark side is decent, not overly chocolatey with lots of crushed cookie bits, closer to the crunchy cookie butter than the smooth, that’s for sure.  As for the white side…I was hesitant when I first saw it.  I was right to be hesitant.  It’s really sweet and really artificial tasting.  It’s smooth.  Maybe it tastes a bit like white chocolate?  I haven’t had white chocolate for so long I can’t say for sure.  I can say that it’s not great on it’s own according to my taste buds.  I think this cookie butter will be OK once a proper dipping or receiving surface is identified (I don’t think a spoon is such a surface for this variety, personally).  But it’s not my favorite.

Can they rival the dark chocolate peanut butter cups?

Can they rival the dark chocolate peanut butter cups?

These also have already been sampled.  They are very different than the peanut butter cups.  Very crisp, almost hard to bite through.  I’m going to have to go all SATs on you: the cookie butter in these is to jarred cookie butter as Reeses peanut butter cup filling is to smooth jarred peanut butter.  It’s more dry and crumbly.  And spiced.  Wow are they spiced.  We both tried one and both got ‘ginger’.  Ginger isn’t specifically listed, but there are ‘spices’ listed.  They taste way more spiced than either cookie butter or speculoos themselves.  Honestly, if they had called these ‘Dark Chocolate Gingerbread Cookie Butter Cups’ I’d call them spot on.  I’m not sure I’m ready to say I love them (what with loving gingerbread and all) and I’m confident that I prefer DCPB, but, yeah, they’re yummy.  They’re individually wrapped in a sturdy foil wrapper instead of a paper cup wrapper. (I’m not seeing the cookie butter showing up in searches (Marvo got a post with it up about an hour after my post…sorry, Marvo 😛 )  I see the cups get a hit here: link.  No review, though.  So these are looking pretty new.)

Found at: Trader Joe’s on Wolf in Colonie, $4.99 for 11 oz. of the cups and $3.69 for the jar.

