Home » Groceries » Andes Cherry Jubilee. Made with Real Cherries. Sort of.

Andes Cherry Jubilee. Made with Real Cherries. Sort of.

Andes Cherry Jubilee

Andes Cherry Jubilee Thins

I had to think about these for a while after spotting them with the holiday junk food at Target.  When I went back they were on sale, so I took the plunge.  I think it was the “made with real cherries” that hooked me.  I should have known better.  Especially at seeing “naturally and artificially flavored” right there on the front.  If you click to biggie size the picture you can also see the hilarious note that there is “No candy in protective edges”.  What does that mean?

No candy in protective edges

No candy in protective edges

Yeah.  That’s what it means.  Good stuff.  Want to see the back?

"Nutrition" Facts

“Nutrition” Facts

Climb a mountain to work it off.

Odd blend of good looking stuff and stuff I know I shouldn’t eat.

I’ll admit to being a bit flabbergasted that a serving is EIGHT of these.  Hey, a fiber!

Fairly attractive.

Fairly attractive.

These are pretty cute, nice cherry look, fun Andes stamp on top.  Well, enough dithering.  I’ll just cut to the chase, they’re pretty mediocre.  At first you can taste the “real cherries”, but then you just get overwhelmed with artificial cherry flavor that just turns this into an exercise in medicinal chocolate.  I wish I could say more, but you can picture it.  Decent enough chocolate, a bit of cherry flavor, and then cherry aftertaste that anyone that’s taken cherry flavored medicine knows.  I’m not seeing how anyone can knock off eight of these at once.  I think I’m going to bring them to work to get rid of.

And, because I don’t want to waste another post…

Not Divine

NOT Divine

I picked up this Divine Milk Chocolate with Spiced Cookies fairtrade candy bar cheap at Ocean State Job Lot.  Looked interesting – milk chocolate with spiced cookies (like Biscoff?)?  Limited edition, chocolate from Germany, all that little village in Ghana stuff, fun packaging.  Wow was this bad.  Like, REALLY bad.  I had a square, had my wife try a square, and then threw it out.  The chocolate was so dry/crumbly/gritty, it tasted like a milk chocolate Hershey’s kiss that fell between the couch cushions and you find it 8 months later and, being a dumb kid, eat.  Apart from adding some crunchiness and more grit, there was no spiced cookie joy.  Stay the hell away from these.  It’s like, “Hey, poor chocolate farmer, we’ll pay you a good price for your chocolate and turn it into crappy chocolate bars.  Deal?”

(Yes, I know that they’re not growing ‘chocolate’.  Neither is Divine, apparently.)

