Home » Groceries » In which I have to post my first negative review of a local product

In which I have to post my first negative review of a local product

Peanut butter.  I must admit, I like my peanut butter.  I eat a lot of PB&Js and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  As an inveterate jam and jelly maker (no, not invertebrate jam, that’s just nasty), there’s always a lot of options in the fridge and even more in the basement.  Strawberry, grape, peach, raspberry, vanilla pear, blueberry…wait, this was a peanut butter post.

I guess I’ve sort of come full circle in a way.  As a kid we has those tubs of Teddie peanut butter in the cabinet.  On my own, the stash was usually store brand chunky, preferred over smooth.  And today, the pb of choice is, again, Teddie.  But now it’s natural chunky.  It took a jar or two to get used to it, especially the still-annoying mixing, but it’s good.  I’m not thrilled that it has to live in the fridge as there aren’t many more annoying things in the kitchen than unspreadable pb, but as long as I remember to take it out a while before using it, it’s fine.

Which brings us to the Schenectady Greenmarket.  Regulars at the market this summer were The Peanut Principle from Cohoes.  I was intrigued enough by their teaser one week of some kind of superfruit peanut butter to shell out an unthinkable $10 for a measly jar of peanut butter – Very Berry Super Fruit to be exact.  Now there’s a lot of stuff crammed in there for that price, and by stuff I mean dried fruit.  Specifically:

  • blueberries
  • cherries
  • raspberries
  • goji berries
  • strawberries
  • acai berries
  • pomegranate powder

Yowza.  I can sort of see where the price comes in.

Nice picture, eh?  Sorry about that.  But wait, it gets more exciting…let’s see what it looks like on that slice of bread!

Oooh!  Runny!  Yeah, that’s problem #1, before you even taste it.  This stuff is a liquid, a peanut slurry.  You can definitely see the (expensive) bits of dried fruit in there, though, can’ t you?  What’s that?  A closeup, you say?

That’s basically a whole raspberry up there in the corner.  Which is just another problem.  Giant chunks of hard fruit randomly scattered in your sandwich.

Let’s move on to the taste.  It’s…different.  I guess if I was some sort of highly skilled food bloggist I would be able to tell you right away what’s different about it – more salt, less salt, more sugar, less sugar, the name of the guy that picked the peanuts, etc.  Barring that I might smear a half-dozen samples on something and add a little sugar, a little salt, etc. to isolate it.  Maybe if I loved the stuff and wanted to recreate it that might happen, but this sad condiment just isn’t worth the time (let alone the $).  I think if it tasted super peanut-y I could find some love for it, even if it didn’t continue to grace my kitchen in all it’s runny glory, but it’s not even all peanut-y.  I figured a niche company like this would at least nail that.

Were my expectations too high?  Maybe.  C’mon, for $10 they should be.  Am I too hooked on ‘supermarket peanut butter’?  I guess that might be a part of it, but shouldn’t a product just be outstanding to get you to move away from mass-produced?  This just didn’t get there in any way.

Is it terrible?  No, I mean we’ll finish the jar, a little here and there on toast (I’m afraid to take a sandwich to work with this, I’m just picturing a baggie filled with peanut slurry).  And, oddly, if you keep it in the fridge it actually solidifies into a serious solid, holds its form, but very spreadable.  But I can’t even imagine a situation where I would buy this again, not just this variety, but anything.

If any one else has eaten TPPs product and loves it, feel free to let me know what I’m missing.  For now we’ll just keep our Teddie.

 

