Home » Groceries » Aborted Local Review

Aborted Local Review

So, sadly I find that I cannot in good faith review a local product picked up at the Schenectady Greenmarket.  I was excited to see in the preview of the week’s products a while back that Susie’s Climax Creations from Climax, NY was going to have gooseberry jam.  Gooseberries are one of those things you see on food blogs and such from time to time and wonder about since they’re not very common around here.  I figured this was a great chance to give it a try before I did anything crazy like buy gooseberry bushes to add to the grapes, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, and choke cherries growing in the yard.

Anyway, long story short.  I didn’t like it.  It wasn’t ‘bad’ as in ‘boy they really screwed this up’, I think I just couldn’t get into the flavor and texture of the fruit itself.  Therefore it wouldn’t be at all fair to review this product – it could be good, bad, or indifferent and I wouldn’t know, not having had gooseberries or gooseberry preserves before.

So, I paid like $7 to find out that I don’t need to spend much more (along with the effort to clear someplace new to plant them) on gooseberry bushes.  The seeds are too ‘present’ for me, the taste just isn’t in my comfort zone (maybe the seeds are part of the ‘charm’, but personally I think they should be food-milled out).  Still, I see that they also offer cranberry jam…which I just might have to try if I see it, even at $7 (a bit steep to me, someone that does a lot of canning, even working in the fact that the cost of a half-pint mason jar is in that price – not egregious, especially for the Greenmarket, but a little more than I’d like to pay).  I’d like to see the market not go all fancy hoity toity, personally, but I’m glad that at least it’s doing well.  It’s been a routine Sunday trip for us.  I’ll have more on things we’ve picked up there as we go along here at Eat Up Albany!  Eat Up Schenectady?

